Crannk Reviews Scum Of The Surf – “The Thrills Of Modern Society” album

Scum Of The Surf are a 4 piece band from the deep south of South Australia, Goolwa and Port Elliot areas. The band has been around in one form or another since 2014.The bands influences is like looking at my CD collection with artists like Bad Religion, Dead Kennedys, Iggy Pop, Nivana, Nofx, Silverchair.
The Thrills Of Modern Society is an 11 track album, it was recorded, mixed and mastered by Andy Kite at Against The Grain studio and was released on the 22nd of March 2019 
This album has musical variety without ever moving out of the punk realm. The opening track “Mexican Roll” is a great example of surf punk, its fast and melodic. “Go Hard or Go Home” is more old school hardcore punk, even the vocals.
I really enjoyed the protest that is “People Vs Oil” obviously against the idea of drilling in the Great Australian Bight. I laughed my ass off listening to the tracks “Day Drunk” and “Tinder

Scum Of The Surf is
Jeff ‘Melvin’ Della-Mina – Bass Guitar
Chris ‘Kingo’ Kingston – Vocals
Rylee ‘Rat’ Smith – Guitar
James ‘Jimmy’ Hurford – Drums




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.