SONATA ARCTICA Celebrates Release Of New Studio Album, Clear Cold Beyond, With “California” Music Video

Clear Cold Beyond, the new full-length from Finnish melodic metal icons SONATA ARCTICA, is out now through Atomic Fire. The band also delivers a music video for the track, California.” Produced by Jarkko Piipari, the video gives intimate insights into life on the road and takes viewers to venues, cities, buses, and airports from around the globe.  Frontman Tony Kakko adds“This is a song about people who think that it’s possible and okay to charm and have any and all people for themselves – use and lose – and who don’t care about the amount of pain and broken hearts left behind. And now you’re the target, but you know better and make sure that this will not happen until ‘California falls into the sea,’ what I’ve come to understand is impossible and will never happen, at least in the sense of science fiction. Simply put: The track deals with self-protection. If you’re strong enough, you can of course give such persons a serving of their own poison what can be satisfying.”

Order the album in the physical format of your choice, stream it on your favorite DSP, or get it digitally at:

Clear Cold Beyond contains ten tracks reviving SONATA ARCTICA’s penchant for power metal-esque songwriting. From high-speed anthems such as “First In Line” and “California” to emotion-laden tracks like “The Best Things” and the closing title track, the record offers something for each and every SONATA ARCTICA fan. The album’s artwork, reminiscent of the art adorning early releases, was created by Niko Anttila. Additionally, the band returned to mixing engineer Mikko Karmila (1999’s Ecliptica, 2012’s Stones Grow Her Name). Final mastering was handled by Svante Forsbäck (Rammstein, Korpiklaani, Delain, The 69 Eyes, Deathstars) who has also been part of other SONATA ARCTICA productions.

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to “California” as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.


Tony Kakko – vocals

Elias Viljanen – guitars

Pasi Kauppinen – bass

Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg – keyboards

Tommy Portimo – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.