Crannk Reviews Currents – “The Way It Ends” Album

Currents – The Way It Ends Album Review by Mike the Punk

CURRENTS are a 5 piece metalcore band from Connecticut in the USA. The band’s new album “The Way It Ends” was released on the 5th of June 2020 and features 11 tracks in total. It was produced by Ryan Leitru and Chris Wiseman, engineering by Chris Wiseman and Ricky Armellino, mixed by Adam ‘Nolly’ Getgood and mastered by Kris Crummett. The album Artwork is by Adam Burke with layout and design by Levi Benton, and Currents Moon Logo by Mason Starkey.
The opening track “Never There” (1:49) is an atmospheric intro piece with a slower tempo, it made the next track “A Flag to Wave” (3:45) feel like the first actual song. The song has heaps of energy and the guitar parts on this song are great. This song had an official music video that was released ahead of the album on the 17th of April 2020. The song earned a spot on Spotify’s Kickass Metal Playlist and also featured on the Metalcore Mayhem playlist on the Tidal platform. 

The next two songs “Poverty of Self” (3:26) and “Monsters” (3:33) were both released ahead of the album. “Monsters” has a great guitar solo, I really got into the squealing guitar parts. The song enjoyed some success on the Deezer platform, where it was included on the metalcore playlist. 
Kill the Ache” (3:54) is a well-written song with a soft/heavy formula. The softer parts of the song displaying real attention to detail. “Split” is a solid track with great heavy groove parts and quieter, cleaner parts that shine. 
Listening to this album from start to finish is a great time, it has an intro that gives you an idea of what to expect, a bunch of great songs with ups and downs and a final track that leaves you wanting more
In summary, this album displays some terrific songwriting and production, its not just a new Currents release, the band has obviously grown since the 2018 “I Let The Devil In” EP. The cleans on this album are cleaner and the album definitely has some mainstream elements, like the electronica sounding intro on “Origin“. The absolute highlight for me musically was the ending of “Let Me Leave.”

Facebook Link
Instagram Link

Twitter Link
Youtube Link

Brian Wille — Vocals
Chris Wiseman — Guitar
Ryan Castaldi — Guitar
Christian Pulgarin — Bass
Matt Young — Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.